Congress drops Ghulam Nabi Azad as general secretary; forms 6-member panel to assist Sonia Gandhi

Ghulam Nabi Azad (PTI file photo)

NEW DELHI: The Congress on Friday announced another set of changes in the organisation, dropping Ghulam Nabi Azad and Mallikarjun Kharge as general secretaries while promoting spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala.
Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi has also constituted a 6-member special committee to assist her in organizational and operational matters.
The members of this special committee are A K Antony, Ahmad Patel, Ambika Soni, K C Venugopal, Mukul Wasnik and Randeep Singh Surjewala. Surjewala has also been made the general secretary in-charge for Congress affairs in Karnataka.
Others dropped as general secretaries includes Motilal Vora, Ambika Soni, and Luizinho Falerio.
The party has also reconstituted the Congress Working Committee and the Central Election Authority.
P Chidambaram, Jitendra Singh, Tariq Anwar and Randeep Surjewala have been made regular CWC members in organisational rejig by Sonia Gandhi.
Azad was among 23 leaders who had written a letter to party chief Sonia Gandhi calling for a complete overhaul of the organisation, a full-time president and elections to CoRead More – Source


times of india